Smita Das, MD, PhD, MPH is Board Certified in Psychiatry, Addiction Psychiatry and Addiction Medicine. Dr. Das studied Chemistry and Statistics at Stanford, completed her Masters in Public Health at Dartmouth College, and then completed her MD/PhD in Community Health at the University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign. She completed psychiatry residency and was chief resident at Stanford followed by an addiction psychiatry fellowship at UCSF. She has over 2 decades of experience in research in healthcare quality and addiction. Dr. Das has an appointment to the APA Addiction Council. She has been a leader in the Northern California Psychiatric Society since 2012 and is the Immediate Past President of the APA District Branch. Prior to her position as Medical Director of Psychiatry at Lyra Health, Dr. Das was Director of Addiction Treatment Services at the Palo Alto VA. In addition to her work at Lyra, Dr. Das practices in addictions at Stanford School of Medicine where she is a Clinical Assistant Professor.

Professional Summary

Professional Education
  • Board Certification: American Board of Preventive Medicine, Addiction Medicine (2020)
  • Board Certification: American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Addiction Psychiatry (2016)
  • Fellowship: UCSF Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship (2016) CA
  • Residency: Stanford University Adult Psychiatry Residency (2015) CA
  • Board Certified, American Board of Psychiatry & Neurology, Psychiatry (2015)
  • MD, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign (2011)
  • PhD, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, Community Health (2010)
  • MPH, Dartmouth College, Public Health (2005)
  • BS, Stanford University, Chemistry, Statistics (2004)

Honors & Awards
  • Addiction Fellowship, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (2015)
  • American Psychiatric Leadership Fellow, American Psychiatric Association (2013)
  • Best Scientific Poster, Annual Meeting of the Society of Behavioral Medicine (2003)
  • First place, Oral Vignette Competition, Research Symposium, University of Illinois (2010)
  • George Ginsberg MD Fellowship, American Association for Directors of Psychiatric Residency Training (2015)
  • Leadership Fellowship, Association of Women Psychiatrists (2014)
  • Member, Arnold P. Gold Humanism in Medicine Honor Society (2011)
  • Miller Foundation Research Grant, Stanford Psychiatry (2013)
  • Miller Paper Award, Stanford Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences (2015)
  • Outstanding Resident Award, Stanford Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences (2015)
  • Outstanding Teacher among those rated as Excellent, University of Illinois (2006)
  • Resident Recognition Award, American Psychiatric Association (2014)
  • Resident Travel Scholarship, American Academy of Addiction Psychiatry, NIDA Sponsored (2014)
  • Ruth Fox Scholarship, American Society of Addiction Medicine (2015)
  • Silicon Valley Scholars 20,000 award Recipient, Intel/Noyce Foundation (2000)
  • The David and Nancy Morse Scholarship, University of Illinois (2011)
  • The David Mortimer Olkon Scholarship in Psychiatry and Neurology, University of Illinois (2011)
  • The O’Morchoe Award for Excellence in the Promotion of Learning by Medical Students, University of Illinois (2011)
  • William H. Creswell Award for Outstanding Graduate Student, Community Health University of Illinois (2008)
  • Young Investigator Award, American Society of Addiction Medicine (2016)

Administrative Appointments
  • Chair, Council on Addiction Psychiatry, American Psychiatric Association (2021 - Present)
  • Councilor, Council on Addiction Psychiatry, American Psychiatric Association (2014 - Present)
  • President Elect, President, Immediate Past President, Northern California Psychiatric Society, American Psychiatric Association District Branch (2018 - 2021)


Specializing In

  • Addiction Disorders
  • Psychiatric Conditions

Practice Locations


Outpatient Psychiatry Clinic ,

Referring Physicians

  • Send referrals online
  • View referral status
  • Access medical records